Venues for Bangladesh – England Series, 2010

Zohur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chittagong
Built: 2004

Zohur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, formerly known as Chittagong Divisional Stadium, was built in 2004 as a multi-purpose facility. The venue was granted Test status in 2006 and has since then hosted six Test matches, besides eight One-dayers.

The stadium, situated on the outskirts of Chittagong, is a relatively small venue with a capacity of around 20,000 spectators.

The wicket slows down gradually during the course of a five-day game after playing a batting beauty on the first three days. Batsmen and spinners generally call the shots on this venue, which has a lush green outfield.

Sher-e-Bangla Stadium, Dhaka
Built: 1970

Sher-e-Bangla Stadium, situated in the outskirts of Dhaka, has emerged as the home of Bangladesh cricket since 2006, taking over the honour from the Bangabandhu National Stadium.

Established as a multi-sport arena, the Sher-e-Bangla was thoroughly refurbished by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) to build the country’s flagship cricketing venue. One of the most impressive features of the stadium that can hold approximately 30,000 spectators is its world-class drainage system.

Apart from lush green outfield Sher-e-Bangla pitch is also known for its green top and the black local clay makes it hard and bouncy.

Similar Posts