Windies name weakened squad for Champions Trophy

Antigua: West Indies have named a weakened squad for next month’s Champions Trophy in South Africa despite their leading players ending a boycott over contractual disputes.

Chris Gayle, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ramnaresh Sarwan and Dwayne Bravo all refused to play in the 2-0 home series defeat to Bangladesh due to their disputes with the board.

The same squad lost 3-0 in a one-day series against the same opposition even though a deal was struck with the players to make themselves available for selection while negotiations continued.

Floyd Reifer, who led the team against Bangladesh, was named skipper for the Champions Trophy to be played from Sept. 22 – Oct. 5, according to a statement in the WICB website (

Assistant coach David Williams was given temporary charge of the team after Australian John Dyson was sacked as coach.

West Indies: Floyd Reifer (captain), Darren Sammy, David Bernard, Tino Best, Royston Crandon, Travis Dowlin, Andre Fletcher, Nikita Miller, Daren Powell, Kieran Powell, Dale Richards, Kemar Roach, Devon Smith, Gavin Tonge, Chadwick Walton.

Similar Posts