TN, Andhra and Hyderabad register victories

Hyderabad: Tamil Nadu defeated Andhra by eight wickets while Hyderabad trounced Goa by 105 runs and Kerala scored a narrow 15-run victory over Karnataka in the Ranji Trophy One-day tournament in the port city of Visakhapatnam on Thursday.

Brilliant bowling by Tamil Nadu’s R Sutheesh Kumar, Yomahesh and KB Arun Karthik restricted Andhra to 190 all out in 48.3 overs at the Ukku Stadium.

While Sutheesh claimed three wickets, Yomahesh and Karthik bagged two each. D Siva Kumar (56), GVS Prasad (41) were the top scorers for the Andhra team.

In reply, Tamil Nadu’s Murali Vijay (95), S Arvind (42) and Dinesh Karthik (47 not out) reached the target in 33.3 overs.

In the match between Hyderabad and Goa at ACA-VDCA stadium, Hyderabad posted 260 for eight in 50 overs as DB Ravi Teja, Amol Shinde and Abhinav Kumar hit 63, 43 and 34 runs, respectively.

Chasing a target of 261, Goa were dismissed for 155 in 40.3 overs as Hyderabad’s MP Arjun and SM Shoaib claimed three wickets each.

In the match between Karnataka and Kerala at the Port Stadium, KJ Rakesh and Sri Kumar Nair put up an impressive show scoring 75 and 68 runs, respectively, to help Kerala make 258 for nine in their 50 overs.

In reply, Karnataka were all out for 243 in 47.3 overs as Kerala’s P Parameswaran and Nyan Nizar took three and two wickets, respectively.

For Karnataka, Devaraj Patil hit a century that included 10 boundaries and Raju Bathkal made 46 runs.

Similar Posts