Live cricket scores, Cricket news and updates by Cricket Nirvana


The current List A cricket competition in India is the Deodhar Trophy. It is the one-day equivalent of the Ranji Trophy in domestic cricket. It was named after Prof. D. B. Deodhar who is also known as the Grand Old man of Indian Cricket. The competition was launched in the 1973-74 by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The first Deodhar trophy match played between South Zone and East Zone. It was the first recorded one-day match in the country, where South Zone emerged victorious by 6 wickets.

The Deodhar trophy is India’s premier one-day tournament where the best of cricketers compete from their respective zones. The competition serves as a breeding ground for young talent.

The tournament is played on a league basis among the 5 zonal teams - North Zone, South Zone, East Zone, West Zone and Central Zone. There are no round robin stage/finals and the team that tops the point table is declared the winner. The North Zone has dominated the proceedings ever since the start of the competition. It has won the competition a whopping 11 times when they won the trophy in the 2005-06 season.

In the 2006-07 season the tournament was renamed as ‘All Star Series’. This was a part of the initiative taken by the BCCI to give a face-lift to domestic cricket.

Year Winning Zone
2007-08 Central Zone
2006-07 West Zone
2005-06 North Zone
2004-05 North Zone
2003-04 East Zone
2002-03 North Zone
2001-02 South Zone
2000-01 South Zone / Central Zone (Joint)
1999-00 North Zone
1998-99 Central Zone
1997-98 North Zone
1996-97 East Zone
1995-96 North Zone
1994-95 Central Zone
1993-94 East Zone
1992-93 East Zone
1991-92 South Zone
1990-91 West Zone
1989-90 North Zone
1988-89 North Zone
1987-88 North Zone
1986-87 North Zone
1985-86 West Zone
1984-85 West Zone
1983-84 West Zone
1982-83 West Zone
1981-82 South Zone
1980-81 South Zone
1979-80 West Zone
1978-79 South Zone
1977-78 North Zone
1976-77 Central Zone
1975-76 West Zone
1974-75 South Zone
1973-74 South Zone