Live cricket scores, Cricket news and updates by Cricket Nirvana


Bangalore Test, Day 1: Statistical Highlights

© Cricket Nirvana

** This series marks the 8th edition of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy. Named after the two greats of either countries, this Trophy has been won three times by India (1996, 1997-98, 2001-02); three times by Australia (1999-00, 2004-05, 2007-08); with the series in 2003-04 being drawn. Given below are some of cricket’s major trophies.



Series/Trophy Period Tests Teams
The Ashes 1882-2007 300 England vs Australia
The Wisden Trophy 1963-2007 98 England vs West Indies
Sir Frank Worrell Trophy 1960-2008 90 Australia vs West Indies
Anthony de Mello Trophy 1961-2006 41 India vs England in India
Trans-Tasman Trophy 1985-2005 31 Australia vs New Zealand
Border-Gavaskar Trophy 1996-2008 22 Australia vs India
Sir Vivian Richards Trophy 2001-2005 13 West Indies vs South Africa

**Of the 17 matches played before today at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore the team that won the toss has always batted first, except for one. In the first ever match played at this ground in November 1974 India won the toss and put West Indies in to bat. India lost the match by 267 runs.
**C White becomes the 402nd player to make his debut for Australia in Tests and the fourth to make his debut in 2008. Incidentally in 2007 only one player had made his debut for Australia (M Johnson).
** The Mathew Hayden-Simon Katich combination was used for the first time by Australia in Tests. This is also the fifth opening combination Australia have used in Tests in 2008. The others being 

Pair Runs Mts Avg
PA Jaques/SM Katich 328 3 65.60
ML hayden/PA Jaques 244 2 81.33
MEK Hussey/PA Jaques 74 1 74.00
PA Jaques/CJL Rogers 33 1 16.50
ML Hayden/SM Katich 0 1* 0.00



** Intrestingly the last “0 run” opening stand for Australia also came against India earlier this year at Sydney. The pair involved then was Mathew Hayden & Phil Jaques.
** For Mathew Hayden  it was his 12th duck in 95 Tests so far. It is also his first duck against India. His previous lowest score against India was 9 at Nagpur in 2004-05.

** Ricky Ponting (123) when on 24 went past Sunil Gavaskar in the list of maximum runs scored in Test cricket. Ponting now moves into the number 6 position in the list of top run getters, behind Lara (11953), Tendulkar (11877), Border (11174), S Waugh (10927),Dravid (10246)

** Ricky Ponting (123) registered his only second score of over fifty on Indian soil. His previous fifty was scored as far back as on 13 March 1998. It has taken him 10 years and 7 months to score another fifty on Indian soil. His scores in the interim were 9,16, dnb,0,dnb,6,0,0,11,11,12; ie: 65 runs in 9 innings @ 7.22

** Ricky Ponting (123) surpassed his previous highest score on Indian soil. His previous highest was 60 at Calcutta in 1997-98.

** For Simon Katich (66) it was his 9th Test fifty, fourth against India and third on Indian soil in Tests.

** The 166 run second wicket partnership between Simon Katich and Ricky Ponting erased the following records.
ü On 79 they went past the previous highest 2nd wicket partnership by Australia at Bangalore SMJ Hilditch & AR Border had scored 78 in 1979-80.

ü When they went past 161 they recorded the highest partnership for the second wicket by a visiting team on this ground. South African’s Gary Kirsten & N Boje had put on 161 in 1999-00.

ü The partnership is now the second highest for the second wicket by Australia on any Indian ground. The highest remains 204 by JW Burke/RN Harvey as far back as 1956-57 at the Brabourne Stadium, Bombay.


** Ricky Ponting (123) scored the 36th Test hundred of his career. It is his first on Indian soil. Ponting has now scored Test hundreds in all countries except Pakistan and Zimabwe. This hundred was his…..
1st in India
6th against India
16th as captain
17th away from home
29th at number three
30th in the first innings

** By scoring his 16th hundred as captain of Australia Ponting now has the most centuries as captain. He betters the performances of compatriots Alan Border and Steve Waugh both of whom have scored 15 hundreds each when captain.

** Ponting is the 6th Australian captain to score a hundred on Indian soil. However his 123 is now the highest score by an Australian captain on Indian soil. Steve Waugh had made 110 at Calcutta 2000-01.

** Harbhajan Singh has now dismissed Ricky Ponting the maximum of nine times in Test cricket. He betters England’s Darren Gough who has dismissed Ponting on 8 occassions. Anil Kumble (7) and Chaminda Vaas (6) are the others to dismiss Ponting most times.



Day 1 Score Overs RR Time
1st Day: 1st session Aus 75-1 27.0 2.78 120m
1st Day: 2nd session Aus 91-1 30.0 3.03 120m
1st Day: 3rd session Aus 88-2 32.2 2.72 132m
Total (1st Day) Aus 254-4 89.2 2.84 372m